V/A - Bristol Boys Make More Noise! CD (NEW) (M)

V/A - Bristol Boys Make More Noise! CD (NEW) (M)

Product no.: VABRI-CD

In stock
can be shipped within 3 days

Plus delivery


Bristol Archive Records have been telling the story of the incredibly diverse Bristol Music scene for several years: Now they turn their attention to another sub culture - Mods, Power Pop and Scooter Boys. This album covers the period 1979 to 1987 and features 21 tracks. When punk rock started to fizzle out and Squat Punks started to appear on the streets, many of the UK's disaffected youths had already moved sideways in Modernism and fell in love with bands like The Jam, Secret Affair and The Chords. The West Country embraced the scene and produced its own Mod bands like Mayfair and The Newbeats. Other bands were in on the act but could be more appropriately described as Power Pop / Ska, namely The A.T's from Bath, The Review from Clevedon and Sky High from Gloucester. Success for some was supporting their heroes, a good example being Thin Air with their 14 year old guitarist and songwriter Paul Sandrone, who supported The Jam at The Locarno in 1980. Or The Rimshots, who played on the same bills as The Beat and The Bodysnatchers. Most of the tracks on this album are previously unreleased or were issued on tiny runs of limited 7" vinyl. Some of our boys did make the grade though. Huw Gower with his band The Records, signing to Virgin in 1978 and had a number 56 Billboard Top 100 hit single with 'Starry Eyes', also playing on the same bills as the Jam. Huw recorded the track 'She's Still a Mystery immediately after he'd left The Records in 1981 with a big anthemic chorus, classic trademarks of The Who. This album is a soundtrack to an era, remembering a period in time when Top of The Pops was full of Two Tone bands. Thatcherism was killing multi cultural Britain but to escape, it was ok to write a catchy pop song, it was ok to look smart and it was acceptable to wear a Parka (weirdly all the rage again now in the 2016).The book provisionally entitled "To Be Someone - Bristol Mod 1979-1985" written by Michael W Salter will follow later in the year published by Bristol Archive Records and Tangent Books which tells the story of the Bristol Mod and Scooter Boy scene.


1. Too Young Girl - The A.T's

2. She's Still a Mystery - Huw Gower

3. A Thousand Burning Voices - Thin Air

4. Little Boys and Little Girls - The Rimshots

5. Traffic - Mayfair

6. Weekends - The Various Artists

7. Second Chance - The Gross Club

8. Maryanne - Sky High

9. I Was Wrong - The Rimshots

10. Herman's Back - Joe Public

11. England's Glory - The Review

12. November Rain - Cass Carnaby Five

13. Keep Your Distance - The Untouchables

14. Nobody Loves Me - The Letters

15. Sand in My Face - The A.T's

16. Sentry's Life - Thin Air

17. Somebody's Girl - The Newbeats

18. The Legend - Mayfair

19. Fleet Street - The Review

20. Experiments in Colour - Blue Riverside

21. High Time Baby - Blue Riverside

Browse this category: Mod/Garage/PowerPop/Ska